The RE department intends to give students the opportunity to learn about other people’s beliefs, cultures and morals whilst developing their own opinions so that they are prepared to succeed in Modern multi-faith Britain.   

Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9)

We model our curriculum on the Greater Manchester Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.  We do however, find that our students benefit more from less thematic lessons.  We endeavour to ensure years 7-9 learn about an Abrahamic religion, a dharmic religion and an ethical topic per year. 

For example: 

Year 7 

  • Judaism 
  • Buddhism 
  • Is death the end? 

Year 8 

  • Islam 
  • Sikhism 
  • Equality/human rights 

Year 9 

  • Why are we here?/The living world 
  • Christianity/Life of Jesus 
  • The holocaust/genocide 


RE is an option subject at GCSE and we have a good number of students who choose this every year. 

We follow Edexcel Specification B Christianity and Islam.   It is 100% exam with 2 examinations at the end of Year 11 with an exam on each religion.  Each is split with 50% ethics and 50% religious beliefs and practices.   

This means that students generally spend Y10 looking at Christianity in more detail including major beliefs and practices.  The ethical topics are marriage and family, life and death issues. 

In Year 11 students look at Islam in more depth including major beliefs and practices.  The ethical topics are peace and conflict and crime and punishment.